LibGuides: Harley Stumm Senior Library Homepage: Science

Useful Dewey Numbers

500 Science

501 Science – Philosophy / Theory

502.82 Microscopes

507 Science – Education / Research

507.8 Science experiments

508 Science – Natural History

508.2 Seasons

509 Science – History / Geographic treatment

509.2 Scientists

520 Astronomy

521 Celestial mechanics (gravity, orbits)

522 Techniques, procedures, apparatus (telescopes etc)

523 Specific celestial bodies (zodiac etc)

523.1 The Universe. Galaxies, quasars

523.2 Planetary systems

523.3 Moon

523.4 Planets

523.5 Meteors

523.6 Comets

523.7 Sun

523.8 Stars (black holes, clusters, pulsars)

523.9 Satellites and rings, eclipses, transits, occultations

525 Earth (Astronomical geography)

530 Physics

530.01 Physics – Philosophy

530.03 Physics - Dictionaries

530.092 Isacc Newton / Albert Einstein

530.1 Theories and mathematical physics

530.11 Relativity

530.12 Quantum mechanics

530.14 Field and wave theories

530.4 States of matter

530.8 Measurement

531 Solid mechanics - Force / Energy / Physics / Motion / Gravitation

532 Liquid motion – waves, buoyancy, flow

533 Air

534 Sound

535 Light

535.3 Light - mirrors

535.5 Light – beams

535.6 Light – colour

536 Heat – expanding, contracting / melting, freezing

537 Electricity / Electronics

537.6 Circuits

538 Magnets / Magnetism

539 Modern physics

539.2 Radiation - Radiant energy / Electromagnetic radiation / Spectrum / Waves

539.7 Atomic and nuclear physics – Protons, Quarks, Radioactivity

540 Chemistry

540.3 Chemistry - Dictionaries

540.92 Physicists - Marie Curie

541 Mixtures (Chemistry) / Chemical Bonds / Chemical Reactions, Elements

546 Inorganic Chemistry

546.2 Hydrogen and its compunds (Deuterium / Tritium / Acids / Hydrogen)

546.3 Metals, their compounds and mixtures / Bases / Salts / Alkali metals - Group 1A - Lithium / Sodium / Potassium / Rubidium / Cesium / Francium / Beryllium / Magnesium / Calcium /Strontium / Barium / Radium

546.4 Group 3B – Scandium / Yttrium / Lanthanum / Cerium / Praseodymium and neodymium / Promethium / Samarium and europium / Gadolinium and terbium / Dysprosium and holmium / Erbium and thulium / Ytterbium and lutetium / Actinide series / Actinium / Thorium / Protactinium / Uranium / Neptunium / Plutonium / Transuranium elements / Americium / Curium / Berkelium / Californium / Other transuranium elements

546.5 Groups 4B, 5B, 6B, 7B – Group 4B - Titanium group / Titanium / Zirconium / Hafnium - Group 5B - Vandium group – Vandium / Nioium / Tantalum - Group 6B - Chromium group – Chromium / Molybdenum / Tungsten - Group 7B - Manganese group – Manganese / Technetium / Rhenium

546.6 Groups 8, 1B, 2B, 3B, 4A – Group 8 - Iron / Cobalt / Nickel / Platinum metals / Ruthenium / Rhodium / Palladium / Osmium / Iridium / Platinum - Group 1B - Copper / Silver / Gold - Group 2B - Zinc / Cadmium / Mercury / Boron / Aluminum / Gallium / Indium / Thallium / Carbon / Silicon / Germanium / Tin / Lead

546.7 Groups 5A, 6A, 7A, O – non-metals – Group 5A - Nitrogen / Phosphorus / Arsenic / Antimony / Bismuth - Group 6A - Oxygen / Sulfer / Selenium / Tellurium / Polonium - Group 7A - Halogens / Fluorine / Chlorine / Bromine / Iodine / Astatine - Group 0 - Noble gases – Helium / Neon / Argon / Krypton / Xenon / Radon

546.8 Periodic table

547 Organic chemistry – polymers, isomers

548 Crystallography

549 Mineralogy

Science

Databases

ANZRC This link opens in a new window Designed for libraries in Australia and New Zealand, this database provides a thriving collection of leading regional and international periodicals, full-text reference books, full-text biographies and a collection of images containing photos, maps and flags.
Login : tss22
Password : Southport!22
ELibrary This link opens in a new window eLibrary is one of the most comprehensive collections of engaging supplemental digital content for public libraries and K12 schools. In addition to hundreds of full text and full run journals and newspapers, eLibrary offers millions of the best images, maps, websites and videos to support today's classrooms
Login : tsouths0100
Password : elau
Facts on File (Infobase) This link opens in a new window Facts On File is an award-winning publisher of print, eBooks, and online reference materials for the school and library market. We specialize in core subject areas, such as history, science, literature, geography, health, and more. Our print titles are authoritative references geared toward the high school, academic, and public library markets. Our highly regarded, curriculum-based online products include reference and news service databases, eLearning Modules, and streaming video. Facts On File has nearly 70 years of service to librarians backing our editorial content and decisions.
Login : Southport
Password : library
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR (short for Journal Storage) is a digital library founded in 1995. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now also includes books and primary sources, and current issues of journals. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.
You need to set up your own account while at TSS - this will link to the School’s IP address.

If you have problems, use the log in
Username : TSS
Password : Winchester
New Scientist This link opens in a new window New Scientist is a weekly science magazine, founded in 1956. The magazine covers current developments, news, reviews and commentary on science and technology. New Scientist is also available online.
Login : ajs@tss.qld.edu.au
Password : Winchester
Study Skills Handbook This link opens in a new window The ELES Online Study Skills Handbook Site provides a comprehensive and interactive online experience for the secondary school community (students, parents and teachers) to develop the study skills needed for success in secondary school studies. This approach taps into students’ affinity with technology to create a new and effective way to improve students’ study skills. There are currently 28 interactive main units of work on the site, a number of additional mini-units and lots of extra features.
Login : thesouthportschool
Password : 17success
Science Online This link opens in a new window Facts On File is an award-winning publisher of print, eBooks, and online reference materials for the school and library market. Our print titles are authoritative references geared toward the high school, academic, and public library markets. Our highly regarded, curriculum-based online products include reference and news service databases, eLearning Modules, and streaming video. Facts On File has nearly 70 years of service to librarians backing our editorial content and decisions.
Username : southport
Password : library

Harley Stumm Senior Library Homepage: Science

TSS Science From the Archives

Useful Dewey Numbers

Science

Databases

Science Websites

Scientists' Claim

Reading Scientific Articles

Scientific Online Journals

Year 7 Science - Earth and Space

10 NASA Deep Space Facts